The Sony A7 – First Sample Photo

Just arrived today! Haven’t had a whole lot of time to play (and I’m away this weekend) but hope to post more photos soon!

Christmas comes early!!
Christmas comes early!!
I've been waiting for this camera for a long time.  Ever since the NEX-5.  I knew if anyone could do it, Sony could.
I’ve been waiting for this camera for a long time. Ever since the NEX-5. I knew if anyone could do it, Sony could.

It was late afternoon.  No time to read manuals or play.  I plopped in the battery from my NEX-6, set the date and time, turned off noise reduction, turned on peaking, and went out to take a few quick shots.  It took me a little bit to figure out how to activate MF magnification, but other than that I found it pretty intuitive.

I debated back-and-forth whether to get the kit 28-70mm lens or not.  But a full-frame zoom that's weather sealed for only $300 - how could I resist?
I debated back-and-forth whether to get the kit 28-70mm lens or not. But a full-frame zoom that’s weather sealed for only $300 – how could I resist?

The kit 28-70 lens is well worth the $300 in my opinion.

I think the Nikkor 50mm f1.4 renders pretty nicely.  I'm using the Fotodiox adapter ehre.
I think the Nikkor 50mm f1.4 renders pretty nicely. I’m using the Fotodiox adapter here.

I’ve only got the 28-70 lens so far (I’ll pick up the 35mm next week) so right now I’m dependent on APS-C emount lenses, and adapted lenses.  I went out with the 28-70mm kit, the Nikon 50mm f1.4, and the Sony 50 f2.8 macro.  I only had about a half hour to shoot.

The cats, my usual test subjects, just were not cooperative today.
The cats, my usual test subjects, just were not cooperative today.

The APS-C emount work beautifully.  I left the camera with the default settings for APS-C lenses – it automatically detects when one has been mounted and switches into APS-C mode on its own. It’s simply a matter of changing lenses – nothing else required on my part.

The camera is pretty small and light for a full frame (much lighter than the D700  I'm use to).  It feels about the same size/weight as my Nikon EM SLR.
The camera is pretty small and light for a full frame (much lighter than the D700 I’m use to). It feels about the same size/weight as my Nikon EM SLR.

DSC07302

DSC07286

One of the reason that the A7 is of interest to me is the ability to see real-time exposure adjustment.  I think this will come in very handy for the high contrast, tricky lighting night shots that I like to do.  But I also found it nice to be able to see the exposure on a day like today with bright sun and snow.  I think that’s why Sony made one of the top dials a dedicated exposure compensation dial – I expect I’ll be using it often!

I’m not a ‘purist’ by any means, and I have no issue correcting some thing in post (such as white balance).  But it’s very, very, important to get the exposure right in camera.  Adjusting exposure in post is limited, and introduces noise.  I need to get it right the first time.

The harsh bokeh is from the macro lens.
The harsh bokeh is from the macro lens.

DSC07270

DSC07258

Gotcha!
Gotcha!

My first half hour with the camera was very fun.  I’m looking forward to shooting with it more next week.  While it’s fun to play with adapted lenses and MF (and I WILL from time-to-time) I’m really much more of an AF kind of guy.  I’ll need to get the 35mm f2.8 soon, and will likely also get the LA-EA4 adapter.

Leave a Reply

