The RX1R Does Kensington Market

I recently had a chance to play with the Sony RX1R on a beautiful, sunny day in the vibrant Kensington Market area of Toronto.

image source: dpreview.com

image source: dpreview.com

A camera that was released in 2013, the RX1 may be ‘old news’ to some (in fact, an RX2 is rumoured to be on the horizon, possibly making an appearance at Photokina) – but it was the first opportunity I really had to handle the camera outside of the showroom – to get out and shoot with it.

The Kensington Market Coffee shop served as a great home base and oasis int he hustle and bustle of Kensington Market

The Kensington Market Coffee shop served as a great home base and oasis in the hustle and bustle of Kensington Market

At an RX1 workshop graciously hosted by Sony and lead by 5-Time Canadian New Photographer Of The Year Peter Power, a half-dozen of us ‘hit the streets’ armed with this tiny, silent powerhouse of a camera!

How did it fare??

RX1 Does Kensington Market

The biggest challenge for me was the fixed, 35mm focal length. I’ve always considered myself more of a 50mm guy. 

One of the reason I prefer the longer 50mm is that your standard 50 f1.8 lens provides pretty good control over depth-of-field.

The RX1 In Kensington Market

But the 35mm on the RX1 is fast, especially for a 35 (f2 .0).  And the bokeh, though not as much as you’d get from a 50 1.8, is unquestionably beautiful!!!

And… I have to admit (even as a self-confessed bokeh addict), more-than-adequate in most cases.

DSC09131

The lens is sharp and renders beautifully.  It’s a lens that’s very easy to fall in love with.

DSC09118

I quickly began feeling myself adjusting to the 35mm FoV.  I think, over time, I could very well become a 35mm shooter.

DSC09112-3

If you love to shoot at 35mm this camera is definitely for you!

If, like me, you’re not a 35mm shooter… beware!  This camera could change that.

 

Leave a Reply

